Emergency Management Advisory Group

October 10, 2024

Attendees

Please see pages 3 and 4.

Call to Order

The Emergency Management Advisory Group meeting was held via Teams on October 10, 2024. It began at 1:00 p.m. and was presided over by Scott Johnson, EMAG Chair. Amanda Webster, Emergency Management Division, recorded the minutes.

Approval of Minutes

A motion to approve the August 8, 2024, meeting minutes was made by Curry Mayer and seconded by Kyle Bustad. The motion carried.

Reports

Chandra Fox, Emergency Management Council Chair, shared a review of the EMC meeting.

- A status update on the WAC 118-30 revision was provided by Alexa Bach.
- Amy Albritton, EMD Search and Rescue Program Manager, and EMC member, provided an overview of updates to WAC 118-04.
- Alexa Bach and Caroline Byrd, EMD Planning Section Chief, provided an overview of World Cup 2026 planning, including the timeline, structure, and key responsibilities.
- An election security update provided by the Secretary of State's Office.
- Elections for a new EMC Chair will take place at the December meeting.

Peter Drance, EMD Preparedness Grants Program Manager, gave an update on EMPG grants.

Sierra Wardell, EMD Financial Operations Section Manager, presented a preparedness grants update.

Work Session

Alexa Bach, EMD Planning Supervisor, provided an overview of the WAC 118-30 update and timeline.

Work Session

Scott Johnson, EMAG Chair, provided information on dates and locations for the 2025 EMAG meetings vote at the December meeting.

Work Session – Election Security

Kylee Zabel, Director of Information Security & Response, Office of the Secretary of State, gave a presentation on Washington State Election Security and provided the election cycle schedule.

Open Public Forum

Adenea Sellars would like to discuss the EMAG in-person meetings at the December meeting when voting takes place.

Deanna Davis asked if a status was provided on the discussion related to the grant process review. Chandra responded that this is still a work in progress. Robert confirmed that they are working on hiring a facilitator in 2025.

Closing Remarks

Closing remarks were presented by Robert Ezelle, EMD Director, and Scott Johnson, EMAG Chair.

Adjournment

Scott Johnson adjourned the meeting at 2:16 p.m.

EMAG Member Attendance

Position	Name	October 10
Eastside Counties		
Small County Tier 1	JoAnn Boggs (Pri)	A
	Steve Bonner (Alt)	A
Small County Tier 2	Sandi Duffey (Pri)	P
	Maurice Goodall (Alt)	A
Small County Tier 3	Adenea Sellars (Pri)	P
	Darren Higashiyama (Alt)	P
Medium County Pos 1	Deanna Davis (Pri)	P
	Sean Davis (Alt)	P
Medium County Pos 2	Tony Miller (Pri)	P
	Vacant	-
Large County	Chandra Fox (Pri)	P
	Vacant	-
Westside Counties		
Small County Tier 1	Scott McDougall (Pri)	A
	Brendan Cowan (Alt)	A
Small County Tier 2	Hannah Cleverly (Pri)	P
,	Willie Bence (Alt)	A
Medium County	Eric Brooks (Pri)	P
	Vacant	-
Large County Pos 1	Lucia Schmit (Pri)	P
	Vacant	-
Large County Pos 2	Jody Ferguson (Pri)	P
	Kyle Bustad (Alt)	P
Very Large County	Brendan McCluskey (Pri)	P
	Alysha Kaplan (Alt)	A
Cities:		
Small Cities	Anne LeSage (Pri)	P
	Mindi Mattson (Alt)	A
Medium Cities Pos 1	John Unfred (Pri)	A
	Heather Kelly (Alt)	A
Medium Cities Pos 2	Lisa Figueroa (Pri)	P
	Ryan Zavala (Alt)	P
Large Cities	Curry Mayer (Pri)	P
	Andrew Stevens	A
CONSORTIA		
CRESA	Scott Johnson (Pri)	P

NEMCo	Kevin Lowery (Alt)	A	
Tribes:			
Tribe Pos 1	Cherrie May (Pri)	A	
	Vacant	-	
Tribe Pos 2	Ada McDaniel (Pri)	A	
	Steve de los Angeles (Alt)	A	

EMC SAC Attendance

Brendan McCluskey

EMAG Guest Attendance

Tammi Wright

Nick Falley

Nick Bacon

Peter Drance

Jan Glarum

Kylee Zable

EMD Support

Robert Ezelle

Sharon Wallace

Alexa Bach

Anne-marie Marshall-Dody

Katie Spiekermann

Sierra Wardell

Amanda Webster

Victoria Fontana

Adam Wasserman

Stacey McClain

Joel Haarstad

Carolyn Byrd